On Call

“Thank you for calling. Our office is now closed. Please leave a message and we will return your call when we re-open. If this is an emergency, please hang up and dial our emergency number.” Where my husband works, you will recieve a similar message after hours and every few weeks it so happens that he is the emergency contact person.

People do the craziest things! They call at 2:00 a.m. and 4:00 a.m. when all normal people are still mostly asleep. I think people need to help in determining what an emergency consists of. It is (1) if your livelihood is at stake (2) if someone is going to die if they don’t have heat. Instead they call our line and wake us up from a sound sleep to inform us that they are out of heat. Once they hear the emergency fee, they promptly inform my husband that they can conveniently do it in the morning when they get by. Thanks, dear customer if it was a true emergency you would pay the money instead all you did was wake us up. Or you have the dear souls who discover their house is getting cold in the wee hours of the morning and after calling the emergency contact you realize they haven’t paid their outstanding bills. To wake up in the early hours of the morning to the phone ringing, to be awaken out of a sound sleep is very frustrating because you normally think it must be important if someone calls at those hours only to discover more than 50% of the time its just an irritation.

I tell the above story to say this. I’m so glad we don’t have an emergency line to God. You pray and He’s there! You never are waking Him up for which I’m doubly grateful because that’s when I spend most of my time talking with Him at strange hours of the night. His ability to answer your request doesn’t depend on money, what time it is, or convenience. I’m thankful He doesn’t get frustrated with me but patiently works with me! He doesn’t find my requests an irritation. And if I have an emergency, His response, His presence is there instantly!

Psalm 55:22 Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.

Thank You, Jesus!

Leave a Reply

