Missed Appointment

view detailsThis morning I had a few errands to run. A bunch of stores to stop at, party supplies to get, and donation items to drop off. I felt like I’d gotten a number of bargains. As I was coming down the road close to our house I noticed my husband’s work truck in our driveway. Just as I pulled in he began to back out. Oh no! I almost missed him. When my husband stops in it makes the children and my day! When he stops in for some reason or another on a work day, it’s like the sprinkles on an icecream sundae! Here, we had almost missed him! I felt sad that I wasn’t here for him because it’s such a treat for us! We at least got to give him some chocolate covered marshmallow peanut butter eggs.

This incident got my mind thinking. It reminded me of the five wise and the five foolish virgins in the parable in Matthew chapter 25. How some of them were ready for the Bridegroom’s return and the others were not. The five foolish had missed their appointment. The most important appointment is our appointment with Christ. Are we going to be busy doing legitimate stuff and miss it? What I was doing this morning was needful but I almost missed my husband. Could it be that we could be filling our lives with busy and good stuff at the expense of the BEST? What is Jesus view on this?

“And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things: But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.” ~Luke 10:41&42

Make sure you don’t miss the most important appointment! Today, fill it with the BEST!

 

Leave a Reply

