Domestic Science

On Saturday we had the privilege of hosting Jordan’s third birthday party which was; of course, “Thomas, the Train” themed. In getting ready, I struggled to find balance, doing what needed to be done and leaving the rest. Recently, as a joke, my dad said to me, he wonders where my mom’s cleanliness got lost with me. I kept thinking of this as I was preparing. We had my family. My one sister-in-law keeps her house picture perfect. She is the one you could take a realtor in any day and get good photo shoots. My one sister-in-law has certain things done just right. She’s the one you go to when you need something done perfectly. And my mom, she is close to obsessive with her cleaning. For example, the one day I watched her wash her floor and the water was barely cloudy. Another example is that if she doesn’t clean all her house one week, the next week it is “dreadfully” dirty. I laugh and tell her she doesn’t know what dirty is. I tend to live my life after sayings such as these:

“My house was clean last week. Sorry you missed it!”

“Cleaning the house while your kids are still growing is like shoveling snow while it is still snowing.” ~Phyllis Diller

“If the shelves are dusty and the pots don’t shine. It’s because I have better things to do with my time.”

Have you ever heard these theories? A woman’s house is the picture of the state of her heart. Funny thing is, I find this one to be somewhat true.(Notice I said somewhat.) When life is hard, the struggle to keep a clean house is much more significant. Here is another saying I’ve heard. Cleanliness is next to godliness. This theory could also be disputed roundly but I do think it has some truth to it. As stewards of the many gifts God has given us, we choose to honor Him by taking care of what we have.

Some people enjoy cleaning. For myself, I’d rather clean than do laundry. As a woman, it gets discouraging at times that minutes after your floor is freshly washed and dried that a toddler’s cup of juice can spill or muddy footprints of others in the house. A clean house is not as important as happy and emotionally healthy kids. One thing that helps is to realize that I’m doing this job for Jesus. It’s strange to think of cleaning toilets as cleaning for Jesus but God’s Word tells us that if we do the least, we are doing it ultimately for HIM.  Here are some questions for you to ponder. Where does cleaning come on my list of important things? When someone is coming do I panic and rush to and fro trying to make things “presentable”? Blessings to my readers as you keep house or your bedroom or your office in order this week.

Leave a Reply

