Hospitable “Hannah”

This weekend I had the privilege of being hospitable “Hannah”. And much to my chagrin, with the helpfulness of my husband I discovered that hospitality was being extended to other people and other weekends and on the list went. I finally told my husband that if he don’t stop inviting people over I was going to sit on him to which he didn’t think was an awful threat:)

What is hospitality? When I think of hospitality, I think of different of my friends who have the gift of making people feel welcomed when they step inside their door. I think of my friend “J” who when you stop in at her house no matter what she was doing she will invite me to stay for lunch or will sit down and chat with me. I think of my friend “E” who invites you in like a long lost friend (even if it was just last week when we lost saw each other) and puts on the coffee pot. I think of my brother who makes the best barbecue chicken in the world and invites a clan over. He open-pit barbecues it and when this happens, he normally makes enough for a small army which means when we leave his house he normally is sending a bag of grilled chicken legs home with us. I think of “G” who is willing to sacrifice an afternoon to speak truth into my life. I think of “N” who often has a crowd of youth at her home.  I wonder who you think of? When you think of hospitality do you think of how clean their house was or do you think of the warm, inviting atmosphere? Do you see the mud spots on the kitchen floor or the dust on the furniture? Or do you remember the conversations you had or the games you played?

Hospitality is something I find difficult. Please don’t get me wrong! I love hanging out with friends and family! But I confess I like it a whole lot more if it’s at someone else’s house. For me, I see the hard work of preparing which means cleaning and organizing and getting the food ready. And then after everyone has gone, I see the clean-up and/or I see my dwindling grocery budget and wonder how we’ll make it to the end of the month. The Bible reminds us though that we must not forget to get together. (Heb10:25) When we get together with friends we can be encouraged. When we get together with strangers, God tells us that some of us have entertained angels unawares. (Heb.13:2)

While hospitality comes hard for me, I know that to have friends I must be a friend. I need not to worry so much like Martha(Luke 10:38-42) did in Luke as to just be. So what if the dust bunnies are rapidly multiplying in the corners. My call is to show those who enter my house Jesus.

In closing: “Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.” Matthew 25:40

Leave a Reply

