Character Building Wednesday

Howdy friends! I’m finally getting around to typing this since I had a very busy day! How did letter “D” go for you? Our words we chose were discipline and delight. It’s amazing how when you focus on character qualities like this it brings to the forefront the area of need. discipline is one we still need to work at especially with punctual bedtime and getting up on time. We love our evenings and nights because this is when we kick back from the day and connect as a family. But even the good things need boundaries. Delight was very good too. Delighting in the good, the bad, and everything in between. Delighting in messing dishes and sand on the newly wash kitchen floor. Delight in playing hospital with Nurse April and Doctor Jordan complete with toilet paper casts, Smartie candy pills, and hand lotion salve. Now for this week, letter

Encourage and Exercise

These are the two words we chose for this week. In looking for two words to focus on, my husband jokingly said that we should choose Enteman’s; the fine connoisseur of baked goods, and exercise. Entemann’s hardly qualifies as a character builder. Here some other words to trigger your thinking-eager, empathy, endurance, and entertain.

Encourage is to give someone hope, inspiration, courage and confidence. Encourage is to support, foster, and cheer. How often do the things we say in any given day fall into this category? I know this one area I really need help. It’s easier to see the negative than to bring out the positive. There is a quote that says it well: “Flatter me, and I may not believe you. Criticize me, and I may not like you. Ignore me, and I may not forgive you. Encourage me, and I will not forget you.” -William Arthur Ward Look for opportunities in this next week to speak life into others! This is especially true if you have children! Use the frustrating moments for teaching moments.

The second word we chose was exercise. Our goal is to be healthy and keep a healthy weight as a family. Conrad delightedly believes he can now escape participating in this one since he discovered he has bursitis in his hip. He’s quite sure that it could make it worse. Exercise certainly isn’t my idea of fun but whenever I am active I know I’m getting healthy. Do you know the benefits of exercise? Here is just a few of the many reasons for it. Exercise increases immunity, fights numerous diseases such as heart disease, lifts one’s mood and fights depression, and increases one’s energy. So kudos to our family as we strive to be faithful this week in this area!

Won’t you join me on this journey of building character? What words will you choose for letter “E”? I’d love to hear from you!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

