God’s Swing Call

I love the things that children come up with! The other evening I commented to my daughter how I loved how she was cheerfully pushing my son on the swing. Then I continued about what I was doing. A while later; April calls, “Mommy, look at me. I’m pushing Jordan because I just felt God telling me to do it!” My soul smiled. I then replied, “I’m so glad that you chose to listen to God!” Satisfied she went back to pushing little lad higher and higher on the swing.

How do we listen to God’s call on our lives? How does God speak today? God speaks through our time spent with Him through His Word and prayer. God speaks through circumstances and through the input of Godly people into our lives. Sometimes, it can even be through small things such as observing another person that God can use to speak to the needs of our hearts. Are  we as eager for God’s approval as our children are for our approval? Are we thirsty for God, like King David of the Bible was? Will you follow God’s call to push your brother on his swing?

Psalms 143:6  “I stretch forth my hands unto thee: my soul thirsteth after thee, as a thirsty land. Selah.”

“Poured Out Like Wine”

Would you be poured out like wine upon the altar for Me?

Would you be broken like bread to feed the hungry?

Would you be so one with Me that you would do just as I will?

Would you be light and life and love My Word fulfilled?

Yes, I’ll be poured out like wine upon the altar for You.

Yes, I’ll be broken like bread to feed the hungry.

Yes, I’ll be so one with You that I would do just as You will.

Yes, I’ll be light and life and love Your Word fulfilled.

~Hugo McCord (?)

 

Leave a Reply

