Character Building Wednesday

Hi folks! How did the letter “F” go for you this past week? This one was easier for us as we chose fun and family. Let these photos speak for our week.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now for this week:

Glad and Grateful

These are the words we chose for our week. What are some other words that you could choose? Here are some suggestions to get your mind thinking: gentleness, goodness, gift-giving, gracious, God-focus. What will you choose?

When I think of the word glad, I think of the dear classic story of Pollyanna who played the glad game. Pollyanna was an optimist who learned to be grateful in every circumstance. One time for Christmas she badly wanted a doll but in the missionary barrel that came for her family all there was, was a pair of crutches. For which they were glad they didn’t need them! Pollyanna taught those around her to play “The Glad Game” through her influence. Reading this story for yourself or to your children would be an excellent way of learning “Gladness”. Gladness is to exhibit joy, pleasure, and cheer. Gladness is to appreciate. I haven’t thought of an action plan for the word glad other than to stop myself when I’m being negative and replacing it with truth. One thing I’ve found challenging is to write down what I’m grateful for. Some days I can come up with a long list of things. Other days I struggle to put even two things down on paper and mean it.

To be grateful is to show pleasure and thankfulness for gifts, favors, etc. Every day we are surrounded by a world of things to be grateful for! Especially those of us who live in this free country of the United States. We’ve been blessed beyond what we deserve! Do we live gratitude? An outlook of gratitude makes a world of difference. I’d much rather be around a person who when life gives them lemons, they not only make lemonade, they make flavored lemonade (like the yummy strawberry lemonade my sis-in-law makes). What kind of person are you? I’m afraid I tend to be the type of person when life gives me lemons, I let them rot. Gratitude is not just about the big things like the blessings that our family recently received through an envelope. It’s about dirty piggies, sand on the kitchen floor, poky “puppies”, and stacks of laundry or dirty dishes.

What does the Bible say?

Psalm 50:23 “The one who offers thanksgiving as his sacrifice glorifies me;”

Psalm 100:4 “Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name!”

Which words will you choose to practice building character in yourself or those around you? I’d love to hear from you, my readers!

Leave a Reply

