Tippy Tuesday

“Stretching Your Meat While Stretching Your Dollars”

Meat is expensive these days and since I’ve got a grocery budget to honor I need to find creative ways to stretch my meat. How do I do this?  For most meat dishes you will not be doing it a disservice to add diced onions and garlic, this adds flavor and bulk. Another easy and nutritious way to stretch meat is to add rice or oatmeal to ground beef in dishes like meatballs, poor man’s steak, Salisbury steak, meatloaf, and I’ve also tasted it (oatmeal) in burgers as well. This helps keep the mixture moist and juicy. One of my personal favorites is adding black beans to my ground meat mixtures. Black beans add nutrition, protein, and bulk.

How do you stretch your meat? I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

