From the Trenches!

Have you ever had one of those days? You know, the ones I’m talking about, the ones where nothing or very little goes “right”. Today was definitely one of those days for me! It all started at 5:15 this morning when the alarm clock rang. My night had been disturbed frequently for a little one who needed nursed, then my dreams were restless on top of it. And as a good wife, I had committed to get up and pack my husband’s lunch. I did NOT want to get up! NO WAY! But I did. I even had an iced coffee with my husband. Then I decided that I would stay up and attempt to scrapbook on www.shutterfly.com . You guessed it! Once again things didn’t go right! It failed to upload my pictures properly and I had to start a photo book again and again and again! I’m not kidding, I actually did try three times. On the fourth try, I gave up for then. I then discovered that I had some peaches that needed to be canned yet today! I had a fussy baby who screamed for like an hour. I didn’t know what was wrong! Even nap time didn’t go right! I laid down with an ambitious little boy and a crying baby. Finally as I was drifting off to sleep a nasty, pesky fly attacks me. So I get up, to can my peaches in the process spilling $4.54 worth of slivered almonds on my kitchen floor and discovering that I can not finish canning until I run to the store for more supplies. Oh great! I did so want to say a bad word! As if, that would make it better! 🙂 I had to wonder how a Christian woman should respond in such circumstances. It’s not as though I didn’t do some things right, like having an iced coffee, hanging out my laundry, having quiet time with God, and reading to my children! But just because we do some things right is no guarantee for a perfect day! A verse came to my mind, “Rejoice, and again I say, rejoice”. Rejoice?! Are you kidding? Then again, I do have so many things to be thankful for such as a healthy body, healthy kids with healthy voices and bodies, a beautiful day, peaches to can, laundry to do, and the list goes on. The other verse that came to my mind is “He that is faithful in that which is least is faithful also in much. And he that is unfaithful in that which is least is unjust in that which is much”. So I will continue to worship even when it goes down and dirty and my ways and my plans get all twisted up…

I REALLY want to know from you, my readers! What do you do when your day goes haywire? How do you remain faithful in the moments of frustration? What are some tips you have learned?

Leave a Reply

