I am a coupon cutting mom. In fact, I love getting a good bargain. This week when I stopped in at CVS I couldn’t find my $1.00 off coupon. “Oh,” I said to the cashier, “I did have a coupon but I think I must have left it in the vehicle.” So she said I should go check. I did. I went and dug around trying to find it to no avail. So I come in and pay and my total was $0.53. As I finished paying I spied my coupon. I was not very happy about that. Then I went to Giant and was looking for another coupon I’d not put away properly and AGAIN I couldn’t find it! I was doubly unhappy then! That one was for a free pack of cookies up to $1.99. Things were not going my way and I was upset. I trot past the bakery and how I wanted to buy a big box of doughnuts to comfort eat! I began complaining quietly to God. “WHY!? Why did this happen to me? I could have saved some more money. So on and so forth!” Then it “hit me between the eyes” so to speak. Who was I to demand that God find me my coupon I carelessly misplaced? Who was I to speak like that to an almighty God who always does what is best for His children? Who was I insisting that God be my slot machine, pressing the right button and out pops what I want?

Do you ever comfort eat? Do you demand things of God? Do you ever complain about what life has handed you? Maybe you are not like me. My pride stank! I don’t want to serve a god that is only as big as me! I needed to realize ALL the doughnuts and chocolate candy and chips in the world wouldn’t take away my feelings. That it would only give me more negative feelings like guilt. My actions reminded me of the Israelites in their wilderness wonderings. “In Egypt, we had the leeks and the garlics, the melons…”

In those moments, I had a choice was I going to be grouchy because things didn’t go MY way? Or was I going to choose the high road? The one of releasing it to God and asking Him to help me choose joy and peace. Was I seriously going to let $3.00 ruin my day? Or was I going to rejoice in that I had the $3.00 extra?

I managed to take God’s way and ended up enjoying the rest of the day. Today, which road will you choose?

*******************************************************************

For more on saving with coupons, check out my sister-in-law’s site! I’ve found this one to be best for my local deals!

http://couponcuttingmom.com/

Leave a Reply

